“…gonna kick it root down!”

It’s Fiesta Friday, and The Novice Gardener throws a wicked party! I’m wearing a leopard baby doll dress, hot pink jelly shoes, three slap bracelets, and the biggest Aqua Net bang wave you’ve ever seen. And what’s more is that the Beastie Boys “Root Down” is bumping in the background. I’m partying like it’s 1994. And, my friends, this song is the inspiration for these roasted, locally-grown golden beets. I hope my bangs don’t catch on fire.

Look, there’s a party goin’ on, and I don’t want to waste this outfit in the kitchen. This recipe is a quick and dirty one, so I’ll be flirting with the cute boy in one-strapped overalls and a Kangol bucket hat in no time. See him over there drinking a Zima? He’s all mine.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound golden beets
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Large pinch of sea salt
  • Cracked black pepper to taste

Method:

Peel and quarter the beets.

20140227-205605.jpg

Toss all ingredients in a non-stick oven-safe vessel.

20140227-205055.jpg

Roast for 30 minutes in a 375 degree oven until the beets start caramelizing.

20140227-205138.jpg

That’s it! Sweet, tender, earthy, sexy beets. These root veggies have my heart, and the simpler they’re prepared, the better.

Now where’s that cutie? Oh no, really?!? He left with the girl in the cropped velour blazer and high-waisted Bongo jeans? Seriously? Oh, I get it. She drives a Miata.

Who wants the next dance? The Beastie Boys are on again, and it’s totally my song!

30 thoughts on ““…gonna kick it root down!”

  1. You can relax because his technicians will answer your questions and
    provide you with a written free estimate before any work
    begins. When they don’t have an online presence, you
    will get the contact details of individuals San Leandro plumbing companies in the phonebook.
    That means investing in those plumbing repairs and renovations that will make our homes more beautiful and comfortable and will
    save you money.

  2. HAHAHA! “Aqua Net bang wave” — I love it! And those sexy beets are calling my name! I only know how to cook beets one way: wrapped in foil in the oven for an hour, but I would love to try to caramelize beets instead. Next time I get some golden beets, I’m doing it your way, Jenna. Oh, and that boy? He was cute, but I saw him pick his nose and then grabbed some nuts out of the bowl. Grody.

  3. Jenna, I think you and I are totes wearing the same outfit today! Beets are one of my favorite veggies! I always saute the beets and greens, but I love the carmelization you got in the oven. Think I’ll give that a try today. I can always tell when my bodyis itching for Spring, when I start craving beets! Of course, I’m Polish, so we like beets with everything!

  4. WOW!!! I had to read this one twice. Love the blog and I really do like roasted beets and all other roasted root veggies. Try asparagus prepared the same way.

  5. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #5 | The Novice Gardener

What's on your mind?